Easter Everywhere is the second studio album by the American psychedelic rock band the 13th Floor Elevators. It was released in November, 1967, through record label International Artists.
For a long time, the album was a hard-to-find collectors’ item, until re-released as a CD by Collectables Records in 1993.
The album features the band’s distinctive sound on songs ranging from their own psychedelic masterpiece “Slip Inside this House” to a trippy cover of Bob Dylan’s “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue”. “Levitation” ranks among the band’s most iconic songs, with its Tommy Hall-penned lyrics and its twisted blues sensibilities, while “Postures” displays a distinct Motown influence. As on the previous album, Tommy Hall’s electric jug is prominent in the music.
Easter Everywhere was packaged with lyrics printed on the inner sleeve, gold ink on the cover (which flaked off on your fingers) and full colour pictures on the reverse. The packaging was quite expensive at the time.
In 2009, the original mono version and a new, alternate stereo version were released as part of the Sign of the 3-Eyed Men box set. Both versions featured different bonus tracks, some that were previously unreleased. The mono version contains missing electric jug overdubs on some tracks that the stereo mix does not have. In 2010, Charly re-released this album on mono and stereo together in a limited edition CD set featuring “Fire in My Bones”, previously released in 1994 on the 1966–1967 Unreleased Masters Collection.
The liner notes for the 2009 Charly re-release state of the differences between the two mixes that “[t]he mono edition of this album is ridiculously rare – surviving IA paperwork suggests only very few were pressed as white label promos for AM radio, and even fewer as mono stock copies (the paperwork suggests as few as 120 copies) that were probably only sold to order. The mono mix offers a more solid sound throughout, with a notably heavier bass mix compared to stereo. There are also some obvious differences: the jug on ‘She Lives (In a Time of Her Own)’ is far more prominent; ‘Levitation’ has a double tracked vocal; Roky’s harmonica solo on ‘I Had to Tell You’ is far clearer.”

Side A
1. “Slip Inside This House” (Roky Erickson, Tommy Hall) 8:03
2. “Slide Machine” (Powell St. John) 3:43
3. “She Lives (In a Time of Her Own)” (Erickson, Hall) 2:58
4. “Nobody to Love” (S. Sutherland) 3:00
5. “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” (Bob Dylan) 5:17
Side B
1. “Earthquake” (Erickson, Hall) 4:51
2. “Dust” (Erickson, Hall) 4:02
3. “I’ve Got Levitation” (Hall, Stacy Sutherland) 2:41
4. “I Had to Tell You” (Erickson, Clementine Hall) 2:28
5. “Postures (Leave Your Body Behind)” (Erickson, Hall) 6:30



Inserisci i tuoi dati qui sotto o clicca su un'icona per effettuare l'accesso:

Logo WordPress.com

Stai commentando usando il tuo account WordPress.com. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Google+ photo

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Google+. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto Twitter

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Twitter. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )

Foto di Facebook

Stai commentando usando il tuo account Facebook. Chiudi sessione /  Modifica )


Connessione a %s...